By Blood-Horse Staff

The Association of Racing Commissioners International Sept. 29 announced members of a committee that will work with regulators in each racing state to complete implementation of reforms that make up the National Uniform Medication Program.

The 12 members of the ARCI Compliance Committee were invited by ARCI chairman Mark Lamberth, who has assigned the committee members to three working teams.

Team A members are John Ward Jr. of the Kentucky Horse Racing Commission, Jonathan Zachem of the Florida Division of Pari-Mutuel Wagering, Judy Wagner of the Louisiana State Racing Commission, and Domenic DiCera of the Illinois Racing Board. They will work with Arkansas, Colorado, Florida, Illinois, Indiana, Kentucky, Louisiana, Ohio, Oklahoma, Texas, and Wyoming.

Team B members are Rick Baedeker of the California Horse Racing Board, Jeff Colliton of the Washington State Horse Racing Commission, Tom DiPasquale of the Minnesota Racing Commission, and Dr. Corinne Sweeney of the Pennsylvania Horse Racing Commission. They will work with Arizona, California, Idaho, Minnesota, Montana, Nevada, New Mexico, Oregon, Pennsylvania, and Washington.

Team C members are Mike Hopkins of the Maryland Racing Commission, Duncan Patterson of the Delaware Thoroughbred Racing Commission, Robert Williams of the New York State Gaming Commission, and Frank Zanzuccki of the New Jersey Racing Commission. They will work with Delaware, Iowa, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Nebraska, New Jersey, New York, North Dakota, South Dakota, Virginia, and West Virginia.

The committee teams will begin by completing a thorough review of the medication policies in each United States jurisdiction, and then will work state-by-state to advance the ARCI medication reforms. Lamberth said the committee will begin work this week, and three teams will meet on a regular basis. The committee has been asked to report to the board of directors in December.